IPL Flashback – 2009: When Adam Gilchrist’s Deccan Chargers stole the show

The then IPL commissioner Lalit Modi made a big call of hosting the Indian Premier League in an another country because the competition clashed with the general elections in India in 2009. Less than a month before the tournament started, it was decided that the IPL would be held in South Africa.

The defending champions Rajasthan Royals didn’t get off to the best of starts, losing to Royal Challengers Bangalore in Cape Town on the opening day of the competition. Shane Warne’s team failed to sizzle like they did in the first edition and eventually finished at the sixth position with 13 points.

Surprisingly, the teams which finished at the bottom of the table in IPL 2008 – Royal Challengers Bangalore (seventh) and Deccan Charges (eighth) – picked up pace in the 2009 tournament. Both teams, who appointed new captains – Anil Kumble for RCB and Adam Gilchrist for DC – notched wins against Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians.

Virender Sehwag’s Delhi Daredevils were by far the best team during the league phase of the tournament. They won 10 matches out of their 14 matches. The 2008 finalists Chennai Super Kings put up another excellent performance in the IPL, finishing second with 17 points. After not getting off to the best of starts, MS Dhoni’s team recorded five consecutive wins during one phase of the tournament.

The Delhi Daredevils squared off against Deccan Chargers in the first semi-final in Centurion. Ryan Harris had the Delhi team tottering when he dismissed opening batsmen Gautam Gambhir and David Warner for nought in the two consecutive deliveries in the first over of the match. Virender Sehwag and Tillakaratne Dilshan consolidated the innings with an 85-run partnership, but the Delhi batting line-up never found its groove since they didn’t string many partnerships. Eventually, Deccan was set a target of 154 for a place in the final.

ALSO READ: IPL 2019 – Full Coverage

Adam Gilchrist set the tone for Deccan when he smashed five consecutive boundaries in the first over of their chase. The Australian wicketkeeper-batsman flayed the Delhi Daredevils bowling attack with a supreme innings of 85 runs from 35 balls. DC eventually chased down the target in 17.4 overs.

In the other semi-final, the Royal Challenegers Bangalore set up the match beautifully by restricting the Chennai Super Kings to a relatively low total of 146/5 in Johannesburg. Five batsmen got a score of 20 or over, but none of them could get a half-century which would have propelled CSK to a bigger score. RCB chased down the target with 1.5 overs to spare.

Anil Kumble got RCB to the best start when he dismissed Adam Gilchrist in the very first over of the final. Bangalore kept chipping away with wickets, but Herschelle Gibbs remained at the crease throughout the 20 overs with a score of 53 runs from 48 balls. Gibbs’ half-century helped Deccan reach a total of 143/6. Kumble picked up excellent figures of 4/16 in the innings.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore failed to plan their chase properly and kept losing wickets at regular intervals. All bowlers employed by Gilchrist, except for Rohit Sharma, picked up at least a wicket. However, RCB were still in the match when they needed 15 runs from the last over with Robin Uthappa and Anil Kumble at the crease.

But, Uthappa sealed RCB’s fate when he played out two dot balls off RP Singh’s bowling. An equation of 14 runs from 3 balls was too much to get and Deccan eventually won the final by 6 runs.

Chennai Super Kings’ Matthew Hayden won the Orange Cap as he finished with the most runs (572) in the tournament and Deccan Chargers’ RP Singh won the Purple Cap as he picked up the most number of wickets (23).

First Published:
Mar 15, 2019 18:34 IST

Source: Read Full Article