Ballari Raghava award presentation on Aug. 2, 3

H.B. Sarojamma of Hubballi and Vadrevu Sundar Rao of West Godavari district, Andhra Pradesh, will be conferred with the Ballari Raghava State-level award in recognition of their contribution in the field of Kannada and Telugu theatre respectively.

The award carries a purse of Rs. 15,000, a silver plaque with picture of Ballari Raghava etched on it, and a shawl.

Similarly, K.M. Rangamma of Ballari, and Raju Kulkarni of Hosapete (for Kannada theatre activists) and A. Lakshminarayan and K. Krishnamurthy, both from Ballari, (for Telugu theatre activists) will be conferred Ballari Raghava district-level awards. The award carries a purse of Rs. 5,000, and a silver medallion with a picture of Ballari Raghava.

These awards will be presented at a function on August 2 and 3 at Raghava Kala Mandir here to commemorate the 138th birth anniversary of the playwright Ballari Raghava. He was also a popular theatre personality in Karnataka and Andhra Pradesh. The Raghava Memorial Association has been presenting the awards to well-known theatre personalities from the two States.

Rajappa Dalwai, writer, from Mysuru University, will inaugurate the function on August 2. Siddaram Kalmath, president, District Kannada Sahitya Parishat, will be the chief guest. K. Chennappa, honorary president of the association, will preside. It will conclude with a Kannada play
Akkana Agniparikshe

On August 3, Appireddi Harinath Reddy, recipient of Central Sahitya Youth Award from Anantapur, will deliver the valedictory address.

K. Koteshwar Rao, association president, will preside; with B. Nagaraj, Assistant Director, Kannada and Culture, as chief guest. The play
Saripadani Sangatalu,
written by Ballari Raghava, will also be released on the occasion.

Source: Read Full Article