Ruckus at Shivamogga ZP meeting

The meeting of Shivamogga Zilla Panchayat held here on Tuesday witnessed unruly scenes over the issue of delay in formation of new standing committees.

The commotion forced ZP president Jytohi Kumar to adjourn the meeting. The problem was resolved after K.S. Eshwarappa, Shivamogga MLA, and C.M. Ibrahim, MLC, held talks with members of BJP, Congress and Janata Dal (Secular). The meeting concluded with the announcement by Ms. Kumar to form the new standing committees shortly.

When the meeting began, K.E. Kanthesh, member of BJP, expressed his displeasure over the delay in holding elections for the standing committees. They were scheduled for April this year but not conducted so far. Kalagodu Rathnakar of Congress and Yogish of JD(S) said that the damage caused by rain in the district should be discussed at the initial stage of the meeting after which the issue of elections can be tabled.

Veerabhadra Poojary of BJP said that the delay in conducting elections was a serious lapse. He alleged that since the JD(S)-Congress coalition that is in power in the Zilla Panchayat now lacks majority, Ms. Kumar is ‘dillydallying’ in conducting elections.

JD(S) and Congress members accused the BJP of being against the interests of farmers for not allowing discussion on the issue of crop loss caused by rain.

The BJP members staged a dharna in the well of the meeting hall, condemning the delay in formation of standing committees. When the commotion increased, Ms. Kumar adjourned the meeting for 30 minutes during which Mr. Eshwarappa and Mr. Ibrahim held discussions with all the members.

When the meeting resumed, the uproarious scenes continued. Speaking on the occasion, Mr. Eshwarappa expressed displeasure over Rakesh Kumar K., CEO of Zilla Panchayat, not conducting the election in time.

Replying to this, Mr. Kumar said that there was no clarity in the rules on conducting elections for formation of standing committees, resulting in the delay.

Mr. Eshwarappa and Mr. Ibrahim suggested that the formation of standing committees should be done through talks between the BJP, Congress and JD(S) in a cordial manner for which all the members agreed.

H. Halappa, Sagar MLA, and Kumar Bangarappa, Sorab MLA, were present at the meeting.

Source: Read Full Article