ZP CEO assures members of reviewing works of Minor Irrigation Department

K.V. Rajendra, Chief Executive Officer of the Ballari Zilla Panchayat, has assured the general body, which met here on Wednesday, of inspecting the works turned out by the Minor Irrigation Department during the last five years.

His assurance came after many a member complained about sub-standard quality of works executed by the department and also building check dams at a place other than where it was necessary, among other things.

Allum Prashant pointed out that none of the officials of the department discussed with the elected representatives the projects that were being implemented in their jurisdiction but were taking action as per their whims and fancies.

“If they were to discuss projects, we will have involved ourselves and ensured that the projects/schemes proposed were implemented properly and helped reached benefits to the people. The Minor Irrigation Department had a major role in conserving water and also helping recharge groundwater table. But, unfortunately, the officials keep us in the dark and when approached, they only say that works worth several lakhs of rupees have been turned out of which we are not aware,” he said. The general body also directed the officials of all departments concerned, including rural drinking water supply, education and health, to deal with erring contractors by issuing notices and blacklisting them, if necessary. “From now on, I don’t want to hear ‘parrot talk’ that tenders have expired, the contractor is ‘not reporting’ and the like. If you don’t take action against erring contractors, then I will be compelled to initiate action against you,” he warned.

The meeting also resolved to write to the government to de-link the project of supplying water from the Tungabhadra dam to Pavagada in Tumkur district that has been clubbed with the drinking water scheme for Kudligi taluk. The government, according to the members, should give its nod to completing the Kudligi project, which was pending for the last 10 years and to avoid further delay.

Bharathi Thimmareddy was in the chair. Alum Veerbhadrappa, MLC, P. Deena, Gurusiddappa, P. Anand and Rathnamma, among others, participated in the deliberations.

Source: Read Full Article