ISRO launches 3 satellites with new SSLV-D2 Rocket

ISRO-  Indian Space Research Organisation has successfully launched its newest rocket, the Small Satellite Launch Vehicle (SSLV-D2), from Sriharikota in Andhra Pradesh.

ISRO had launched 3 small satellites powered by its SSLV-D2 launch vehicle from Satish Dhawan Space Centre at Sriharikota on February 10  at 09:18 AM IST.

On its second developmental flight  SSLV-D2 orbited three satellites, including the 156.3 kg Earth Observation Satellite-07 (EOS-07),\ 10.2 kg Janus-1 belonging to ANTARIS of  US, and 8.7 kg AzaadiSat-2 belonging to Space Kidz India, Chennai. SSLV-D2 is the  34 metre tall and 120 ton rocket primarily powered by  the solid fuel, with the  velocity trimming module for precise injection of satellites.

 SSLV-D2 had to take 15 minutes flight to inject EOS-07, Janus-1 and AzaadiSAT-2 satellites into  the 450 km circular lower orbit .ISRP said “It is configured with the 3 solid propulsion stages and a velocity terminal module. It is a 34 m tall, 2 m diameter vehicle having a lift-off mass of 120 t.” EOS-07 satellite weighs 156.3 kg and is made by ISRO.

With the new rocket in its portfolio, ISRO will have three rockets — Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle, Geosynchronous Satellite Launch Vehicle and SSLV.

SSLV is the low cost and low turnaround time rocket with potential for flexible and launch on demand capabilities.

Source: Read Full Article