RS MPs can now speak in 22 Indian languages in House

Rajya Sabha Chairman M. Venkaiah Naidu on Wednesday announced that the Upper House now has a facility for simultaneous interpretation in all 22 Indian languages after an addition of five more languages.

Now Members can also speak in Dogri, Kashmiri, Konkani, Santhali and Sindhi, he said on the opening day of the Monsoon Session of Parliament.

Of the 22 scheduled languages, the Rajya Sabha earlier had simultaneous interpretation services for 17 languages, including Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Malayalam, Marathi, Oriya, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu. However, members will have to give a prior notice for the interpreter in the secretariat.PTI

Source: Read Full Article