HC allows impleading 11 MLAs in petition

The Hyderabad High Court on Thursday agreed with a petitioner, who sought an order against Telangana Speaker Madhusudana Chary and Minister Talasani Srinivas Yadav, to implead 11 other MLAs in the petition.

A division bench comprising Chief Justice Thottathil B. Radhakrishnan and Justice Ramesh Ranganathan, granted the permission. Last week, the bench heard the writ petition to declare the continuance of Mr. Chary and Mr. Yadav in their respective offices as illegal. The petitioner maintained that the Minister was ineligible to continue as both legislator and Minister as he attracted anti-defection law since he won on TDP ticket but joined the ruling TRS.

The petitioner contended that the Speaker too was ineligible to continue in his office having failed to take action against the Minister. Resuming the hearing on Thursday, the bench asked the petitioner’s counsel G. Malleswara Rao why action was sought only against Mr. Yadav. The bench said there were 11 other MLAs — who won on TDP ticket but eventually quit that party and joined the TRS. When the lawyer said the HC can implead them as well in the petition, the bench said it was for the petitioner to implead them. The next hearing is posted after four weeks.

T. Srinivas Yadav ineligible to continue as MLA and Minister as he attracts anti-defection law. He won on TDP ticket, but joined the TRS.”


Source: Read Full Article