Eight Maharashtra boys in main draw

Most fancied names brooked no hurdle on their way to the main draw in the sub-junior section of the National-ranking table tennis (North Zone) championship here on Sunday.

With eight seeds directly placed in the main draws of sub-junior boys and girls, 48 boys and 40 girls made it past the group league.

As many as eight boys from Maharashtra-A and Maharashtra-B advanced, while 10 girls from West Bengal and North Bengal made the knockout phase.

Among those who qualified exceeding expectations were Vibhor Garg, Dhurv Das, Trishul Mehra, Sarth Mishra, Tamil Selvam Kushal Chopda, Adambakkam Prakash, Mannika Kesar, Hirdiyanshi Jha, Karruna Gajendran, and Soumili Datta.

Meanwhile, the list of withdrawals from next week’s National-ranking tournament in Indore grew longer with former National champion A. Amalraj expressing his non-availability.

He joins Sharath Kamal, G. Sathiyan, Harmeet Desai and Manika Batra in the list of withdrawals. These players, however, will be heading to the Korea Open, on July 15.

Source: Read Full Article