KPL: Vinay, Manish and Binny among those retained

The likes of Vinay Kumar (Hubli Tigers), Manish Pandey and Stuart Binny (both Belagavi Panthers) have been retained by their franchises ahead of the Karnataka Premier League auction, which will be held on Saturday.

The seven franchises are allowed to retain four players each, a quota that has been filled by all franchises except Bengaluru Blasters. Retained players will be paid what they were paid last season.

Mayank Agarwal, Karun Nair, K. Gowtham and Shreyas Gopal are some of the big names who were not retained.

Karun, who is part of the Indian Test team for the England tour, is likely to miss the initial stages of the KPL. The availability of Mayank and Gowtham for the entire duration of the KPL is in doubt as they are part of the India-A setup.

A KPL squad has to comprise of a minimum of 15 players, and a maximum of 18 players. Besides the ones picked at the auction, each team must include two players from their respective catchment areas.

A sum of Rs. 20,000 is allocated for this, above the Rs. 30 lakh-ceiling marked for the auction and the player-retention fees.

The retained players:

Hubli Tigers: Abhishek Reddy, Praveen Dubey, Vinay Kumar and Abhishek Sakhuja.

Shivamogga Lions: Aniruddha Joshi, Nihal Ullal, Liyan Khan and Sarfaraz Ashraf.

Bijapur Bulls: K.C. Cariappa, Ronit More, M.G. Naveen and Bharath Chipli.

Ballari Tuskers: C.M. Gautam, Devdutt Padikkal, Rohan Kadam and Abhinav Manohar.

Belgavi Panthers: Manish Pandey, Stalin Hoover, D. Avinash and Stuart Binny.

Bengaluru Blasters: Mitrakanth Yadav, Pawan Deshpande and V. Koushik.

Mysuru Warriors: J. Suchith, S.P. Manjunath, V. Vyshak and N.P. Bhareth.

Source: Read Full Article