PICS: SunRisers outclass Punjab Kings for first win

Images from the IPL match between Punjab Kings and SunRisers Hyderabad, in Chennai, on Wednesday.


SunRisers Hyderabad produced a clinical display with bat and ball to thrash Punjab Kings by nine wickets and register their first victory in IPL 2021, at the M A Chidambaram stadium, in Chennai, on Wednesday.

Impressive bowing by fast bowler Khaleel Ahmed, followed by an unbeaten fifty by Jonny Bairstow, enabled SunRisers Hyderabad snap a three-match losing streak and pick their first points in the competition.

Asked to bowl first, the SunRisers pace-spin duo of Khaleel (3 for 21) and Abhishek Sharma (2 for 24) did bulk of the damage as Punjab Kings were bundled out for a below-par 120 in 19.4 overs.

Senior pacer Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1-16), Afghanistan spinner Rashid Khan (1/-7) and Siddarth Kaul (1-27) chipped in with a wicket each.

Shahrukh Khan and Mayank Agarawal, who was dropped on 0 in the first over by Rashid, were Punjab’s top scorers with 22 runs each.

In reply, SunRisers Hyderabad openers Jonny Bairstow (63) and David Warner (37) pummelled the Punjab Kings bowlers into submission in a partnership of 73 runs off 60 balls before Kane Williamson (16) knocked off the remaining runs with Bairstow to emerge triumphant with eight deliveries to spare.

Punjab Kings suffered their third straight defeat in four matches

Bairstow and Warner hit five boundaries and two sixes during their 50-run stand in the powerplay, while Punjab could score just nine fours and two maximums in their entire innings.

Warner brought up SunRisers’ 50, hitting the fifth ball of the sixth over through the covers for two runs and a single of the last ball, while scoring 22 off as many balls. Bairstow had then stroked his way to 26 from 18 balls.

The SunRisers were in control of the chase, putting up 73 without loss in 10 overs, with another 48 needed for victory.

Bairstow had scored 32 from 24 balls, while Warner was 37 from 36 balls at the half-way mark.

However, Jamaican left-arm orthodox bowler Fabian Allen returned to the attack in the 11th over and lifted Punjab’s spirits with his first delivery, dismissing Warner, who pulled a short ball and was caught by Mayank Agarwal at deep mid-wicket for 37.

The was the only success for Punjab Kings as Williamson, playing his first match of the season, and Bairstow hit up the remaining runs in a 48-run partnership.

Earlier, Punjab Kings captain KL Rahul won the toss and elected to bat. Pacers Riley Meredith and Jhye Richardson were left out of the playing eleven and Fabian Allen and Moises Henriques made their debuts for the franchise.

Jalaj Saxena made way for leg-spinner Murugan Ashwin.

Meanwhile, SunRisers received a big boost as Kane Williamson was ruled fit to play. He took the place of Mujeeb-ur Rahman.

Abdul Samad missed out due to injury and Kedar Jadhav got his first game for Sunrisers, while Siddharth Kaul replaced Manish Pandey.

The Karnataka duo of Mayank Agarwal and K L Rahul opened the batting for Punjab, while SunRisers opened the bowling with the left-arm spin of Abhishek Sharma.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar struck early for Sunrisers, getting the key wicket of Punjab captain KL Rahul for 4.

The right-hander played the pull shot but miscued the ball on the leg side and Kedar Jadhav took the offering at short mid-wicket. 

Punjab were 15 for 1 at the start of the fourth over. 

New-man in Chris Gayle and Agarwal played with caution while picking the occasional four to take the score to 32 for 1 in six overs. However, left-arm pacer Khaleel Ahmed returned to the attack and got the other opener.

Agarwal pulled the last ball of the over but failed to get hold of it and Rashid Khan took a good, low catch at mid-wicket, inches from the ground.

Agarwal was out for 22 and Punjab were 39 for 2 after seven overs.

Things went from bad to worse for Punjab as Nicholas Pooran’s poor run in IPL 2021 continued. He was run-out for a duck without facing a single delivery.

Gayle called his West Indian teammate for a quick single, but the young left-hander struggled to make his crease and was run-out by a direct hit from David Warner.

Two wickets in two balls and Punjab Kings were 39 for 3 in the eighth over.

Leg-spinner Rashid Khan was introduced into the attack in the ninth over and the Afghan struck with his fourth delivery, dismissing Gayle, who came forward to defend but was hit on the pads and trapped leg before wicket for 15.

Punjab were reeling at 47-4 at the end of the ninth over.

Abhishek Sharma then dismissed Deepak Hooda. The batsman went back and across before looking to sweep, missed and was hit on the pads.

Umpire Krishnamachari Srinivasan ruled it leg before wicket, but Hooda took the review, which showed the impact in line and the ball clipping the leg stump.

Hooda was out for 13 and Punjab 63 for 5 in the 12th over.

Sharma got his second wicket in the 14th over when Moises Henriques attempted to hit over the top, came down the track and was beaten in the flight. Wicketkeeper Jonny Bairstow, missed two easy stumping chances a little before, did the needful this time.

Punjab were in deep trouble at 84 for 6 in 14 overs.

Shahrukh Khan and Fabian Allen (6) steadied the innings a bit, the latter taking a single to bring up Punjab’s 100 in the 17th over. However, he sliced the fourth ball of the over from Khaleel and Warner took a good catch in the covers, diving to his right.

Punjab Kings were seven down for 101.

Khaleel continued his wicket ways, taking the key wicket of Shahrukh, who was offering gutsy resistance.

The right-hander pulled it straight to Abhishek at deep mid-wicket and was out after a good hand of 22 from 17 balls.

Khaleel went on to finish his four overs with figures of 3 for 21.

Murugan Ashwin and Mohammed Shami were then dismissed in the last over, the former caught by Bairstow off the bowling of Siddharth Kaul while Shami was run out by Warner as Punjab Kings were all out for a lowly 120 in 19.4 overs.

  • IPL 2021

Source: Read Full Article